LinkedIn YouTube Facebook Twitter RSS Reset
Comments Off

Scherer Breaks Through At PSC Brawl In Blackwell

SchererU4BlackwellNovember 2012 – Blackwell, TX: The Nitto Tire National Championship Series came to a finale last weekend at the PSC Brawl in Blackwell, Texas. The race was held at Texana Ranch and brought together the top 50 Ultra4 drivers from the 4WD Hardware Eastern Regional Series and the Trail-Gear Western Regional Series in a head to head race that had fans on the edge of their seat. The top four finishers completed the 176 miles within 4 minutes of each other with third place Chris Hoyt and fourth place Mike Colville coming in literally nose to tail across the finish line.

2009 King of The Hammers Winner and PSC driver, Jason Scherer started the race in the pole position and maintained a significant lead throughout the first few laps. However, issues with clogged fuel injectors saw him slip into 5th place on the 3rd lap. After replacing four of his eight injectors, Scherer had 65 miles left and needed to not only overtake the four cars that had passed him, but also to finish five minutes ahead of Chris Hoyt and three minutes ahead of 2nd place Jason Shipman to be declared the winner of the PSC Brawl in Blackwell. With his fastest lap time of the entire race – 1 hour and 2 minutes, Scherer was able to overtake the physical lead and have an overall finish time that was more than two minutes ahead of 2nd place Ultra4 driver, Jason Shipman.

Ultimately, it would be 1st place, Jason Scherer, 2nd Place Jason Shipman, 3rd place Chris Hoyt, 4th Place Mike Colville and 5th place, Ultra4 Nitto Tire National Champion, Nick Nelson. The top 5 drivers were a true mix of east meets west; Shipman and Colville both gaining entry into the race from 4WD Hardware Eastern Regional Series and Scherer, Hoyt and Nelson all part of the Trail-Gear Western Regional Series.

Blackwell, Texas was also the last race in 2012 that would grant entry to 2012 Ultra4 drivers into the 2013 Griffin King of The Hammers race. 25 of the 48 drivers competing in the PSC Brawl in Blackwell had not yet qualified to compete in Johnson Valley in February. After this weekend’s race, 11 teams qualified by successfully completing the PSC Brawl in Blackwell and an additional 5 teams qualified based on series points and having raced a minimum of 3 races including Texas in the Ultra4 Series.

The following is the complete list of drivers and their finishing order.

S = Series Qualified
T = Texas Qualified
* Already Qualified

* 76 Jason Scherer 4:45:34 (1)

* 4414 Jason Shipman 4:47:54 (2)
* 53 Chris Hoyt 4:48:21 (3)
* 4418 Mike Colville 4:49:26 (4)
* 4404 Nick Nelson 5:00:57 (5)
* 4428 Loren Healy 5:08:51 (6)
* 4481 Alex Hardaway 5:11:37 (7)
t 4403 Ben Dinkins 5:12:36 (8)
* 4446 Gary Ferravanti Sr 5:25:33 (9)
* 26 Clay Gilstrap 5:26:34 (10)
t 4429 Travis Watford 5:33:54 (11)
t 4580 Jordan Townsend 5:34:46 (12)
t 4419 Jeremy Dickenson 5:46:14 (13)
* 4441 Darren Henke 5:49:25 (14)
* 321 Tom Wayes 5:49:41 (15)
* 4471 TJ Flores 6:03:02 (16)
* 4476 Kevin Gamble 6:03:18 (17)
t 524 Mark Danzo 6:07:25 (18)
t 4472 Dustin Isenhour 6:13:22 (19)
t 4444 Jason Pickett 6:24:02 (20)
* 69 Toby Harrell 6:25:11 (21)
t 81 Levi Shirley 6:28:15 (22)
* 927 Doug Kahlstrom 6:37:32 (23)
t 890 Jonathan Terhune 6:39:03 (24)
* 4456 Mike Feagins 6:46:34 (25)
t 4469 Jack Childers 6:50:13 (26)

t DNF 429 Troy Stone
s DNF 104 Jim Brown
s DNF 4470 Clint Ellett
s DNF 701 Greg Lundeen
s DNF 338 Matt Peterson
s DNF 4455 Andy Brown
* DNF 4343 Tim Diekmann
* DNF 4436 Kim Matzen
DNF 595 Tony Arledge
DNF 18 Brian Shirley
*DNF 33 Spencer Murphy
DNF 4433 Adam Carter
DNF 4420 Derek West
* DNF 4421 Erik Miller
* DNF 9 Scott Decker
DNF 49 Matt Burkett
DNF 63 Nathan Unruh
DNF 5252 Bill Baird
* DNF 4407 Cottin Rodd
*DNF 5 Shannon Campbell
* DNF 42 Aaron Peters
DNF 4452 Will Carter
* DNS 366 John Sweet
* DNS 4 Mike Odom

Scherer Photo Courtesy of T. Kingston of Spidertrax Off Road.

ABOUT ULTRA4 RACING – Ultra4 is a vehicle type, class and series. Ultra4 Racing was born from the popularity of the annual Griffin King of the Hammers, considered to be the toughest one-day off-road race. The vehicles are unlimited four-wheel drive, capable of competing in multiple racing disciplines – extreme rock crawling, high-speed desert racing and short course. In five years, the sport has grown significantly from the inaugural King of the Hammers to an eight race national series including a regional east and west championship and a three-race pro series.

Ultra4 Racing is managed by Hammerking Productions located in Lake Arrowhead, CA. To learn more, log on to

Comments are closed.