LinkedIn YouTube Facebook Twitter RSS Reset

Robby Gordon Holds Overall Points Lead Heading Into General Tire “Vegas To Reno”, “The Longest Off-Road Race In The United States”

RobbyGordon_Trackside(Las Vegas, Nevada – August 13, 2012) As the top off-road racers gather to take on the challenging second half of Best In The Desert’s 2012 6-race race season, racing icon Robby Gordon holds the overall, and Class 1500 points lead with 300 points in his bright orange RPM, Geiser Bros. truggy. Gordon leads the General Tire sponsored Class 1500 unlimited car of Mike Childress sitting in second overall and in class, with 273 points.

The Trick Truck standings are even closer with Mark Weyhrich and Steve Sourapas tied at the top with 242 points each. They are followed closely by Gordon’s RPM teammate, Juan Carlos Lopez with 238.

It’s only fitting that the second half of the season begins with perhaps the most technical and challenging race on the schedule. The 534-mile General Tire “Vegas to Reno” course, known as “The Longest Off-Road Race in the United States”, is the ultimate test of man and machine as they try to survive the demanding Nevada desert. This race will prove to be pivotal in so many racers’ quest at a season class championship. That’s why so many of them come to take on the historical event.

Entries are now up to 319 cars, trucks, motorcycles, quads and UTVs. With additional racer registrations being accepted up to the day before the race, this race could easily result in the largest field of the season. Racers from all over the world, including Europe, Canada, South America and Australia have already signed up for this epic adventure.

Here’s how the entries stack up at this point:
Car/Trucks – 197
Motorcycles – 79
Quads – 20
UTVs – 23
Total – 319

Activities leading up to the 2012 General Tire “Vegas to Reno” race will officially get underway Wednesday, August 15th, when the Trick Trucks and open Class 1500 buggies get set to go head to head at the Time Trials for a shot at the coveted “Team Ford” Pole Award and the $1000 in bonus cash from Steve Olliges of Team Ford Lincoln that goes along with it. Best In The Desert is the only off-road desert racing organization that holds this type of qualifying format for every race on the schedule. The special format really allows the fastest race vehicles, regardless of car or truck, to compete on equal ground for the “dust-free” first starting position and a great shot at the overall four wheeled race victory.

Contingency and tech inspection kicks off Thursday, August 16th, from 8:00 AM until 5:00 PM at the Aliante Station Casino and Hotel in North Las Vegas. Race fans will have the chance to get up close to the race vehicles and drivers as well as check out thousands of awesome race related products on display as they weave their way through the parking.

2011 “Vegas to Reno” – Defending Class Winners
Car and Truck Class Winners by Overall Time
Class 1400 Steve Strobel/Dale Ebberts Ford 9:52:39
Class 1500 Garrick Freitas/Danny Freitas Jimco 9:57:41
Class 1200 Troy Vest/Geno Licitra Chevrolet 11:26:18
Class 1100 Bryan Folks/Rick Graf Ford 11:40:38
Class 7200 David Caspino/Neal Mason Ford 11:43:18
Class 8000 Don German/Chris German Chevrolet 11:50:20
Class 1000 Chad Giguiere/Cody Bullock Custom 11:59:37
Class 2000 Bryan Meyers/Kyle Hearold Custom 12:35:43
Class 3000 Mike Belk/Wendy Belk Seagroves 12:55:53
Class 6100 Jim Riley/Rick L Johnson TrophyLite 13:19:12
Class 8100 Randy Merritt/Chris Golding Ford 14:05:03
Class 1800 Jim Goff/Shane Baich Lothringer 14:48:10
Class 1700 Michael Vernak/Matt Vogler Jeep 16:33:17
Class 7100 Blake Henn/Freddy Paris Ford 17:44:52
Class 4400 JT Stephens/Dave Cole Custom 20:28:27

Motorcycle, Quad & UTV Class Winners by Overall Time
Open Pro Shane Esposito/Chris Brown Kawasaki 9:39:27
Open Exp Justin Morrow/CarlMaassberg Honda 10:13:53
O-30 Pro David Fry/Jason Trubey Honda 10:36:02
250 Exp Ryan McManus/John Harbauer KTM 10:57:43
Quad Pro Greg Stuart/Nicholas Granlund Laeger 11:06:39
O-30 Exp Marc Jenkins/Greg Willitts Honda 11:14:51
O-40 Pro Scott Glimp/Tim Morton Honda 11:20:41
O-40 Exp Steven Fuller/Todd Abratowski Honda 11:30:49
IM Exp Jake Oswald Honda 11:48:54
Open Am Greg Parker/William Williford Honda 12:00:40
O-50 Exp Mike Mieras/Brad Kohler Husaberg 12:14:38
Quad Exp Juan Dominguez/
Alonzo Dominguez Honda 12:46:18
QIM Exp Gerald Nunes Honda 13:02:19
Quad Am Richard Goforth/James Ortiz Can-Am 13:11:41
250 Pro Jesse Canepa/Matt Canepa Yamaha 13:20:43
IM Am Dennis Buckmeyer Kawasaki 13:32:00
QIM Am Norm Graham Suzuki 19:42:30
UTV Pro Brandon Schueler/Chad Riccio Polaris 13:27:42

Best In The Desert official sponsors: Ford Motor Company – official truck, General Tire – official tire, Lucas – Official Oil, VP Racing Fuels – official fuel, KC HiLiTES – official light, John Deere – official UTV, American Beta – official motorcycle, Fabtech – Official Suspension, Fall Advertising, Prerunner Maniac, McKenzies, PCI Race Radios, Bullet Liner and Sportsman Cycle Sales.

The American Off-Road Racing Series…Best In The Desert!
Further information available from:
email:, phone: (702) 457-5775

No comments yet.

Leave a Comment