LinkedIn YouTube Facebook Twitter RSS Reset

Eibach – The Will To Win Race Roundup 04/30/2012

pr04-30-12_1NASCAR Whelen All-American Series
Newhouse Makes Record Breaking Debut at Magic Valley Speedway TWIN FALLS, ID (April 16, 2012) — Hannah Newhouse launched her NASCAR Whelen All-American Series career with a record-setting performance on Saturday, April 14. Newhouse became the series’ youngest NASCAR Division I feature winner in her first career start at Magic Valley Speedway in Twin Falls, Idaho. She won a side-by-side race with Steve Edens off Turn 4 to the finish line to win the 30-lap Commercial Tire Super Stock feature at the .333-mile paved oval by just .001-second. At 15 years, two months and 10 days, Newhouse lowered the age record. Newhouse is also the track’s youngest NASCAR Division I feature winner and youngest female feature winner in any division, and the third youngest Division I winner — male or female — in the history of the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series. Before the race, she had only 20 laps of practice in the Eibach Springs equipped car.

pr04-30-12_2NASCAR K&N Pro Series West
Derek Thorn Wins First Career NASCAR K&N Pro Series West Race at Havasu BAKERSFIELD, CA (April 16, 2012) — Lakeport’s Derek Thorn drove Bob Bruncati’s Sunrise Ford #6 to his first career NASCAR K&N Pro Series, West victory on Saturday, April 15, winning the “Toyota/NAPA 150″ at Havasu 95 Speedway in Lake Havasu, AZ. Thorn’s win came from the pole in just his eighth career series start and in the series’ debut at the quarter-mile speedway. The victory was especially satisfying as he fought off several mid-race challenges from Dylan Kwasniewski, taking the lead for good on lap 108. All told, Thorn led a total of 141 of the 150 laps for the evening. With the victory, Thorn locked himself into a spot at the UNOH Battle at the Beach, to be held at Daytona International Speedway during Speedweeks in February of 2013. Thorn also jumped up to second place in the championship point standings just three points out behind David Mayhew.

pr04-30-12_3United States Modified Touring Series (USMTS)
Gustin Follows Up Runner-Up Finish at La Monte With Win at Valley Speedway GRAIN VALLEY, MO (April 20, 2012) — During the first half of the USMTS Casey’s Cup Series feature event at the LA Raceway, it appeared as if defending National Champion Ryan Gustin would conquer the field for his first win of 2012. Instead, the Eibach Springs equipped Hughes Racing Chassis would take the checkered flag in second for his fifth runner-up finish of the season. Gustin took control of the 40-lap feature from the pole position and pulled out to nearly a ten-car-length lead by lap 10 with the Eibach Springs adorned Modified of Dereck Ramirez in tow. By lap 15 ‘The Reaper’ was lapping the back of the field before losing the lead to the eventual winner with 21 circuits complete in the 6th Annual Schwab’s Tinker Shop Show-Me Shootout. Ramirez was able to hold onto third in the caution free event. Eibach Springs Heat Three Winner: John Allen

Determined not to settle for another bridesmaid result like he did last year at the Valley Speedway in Grain Valley, Missouri, Gustin used every inch of the racing surface to slice his way through lapped traffic while current points leader Rodney Sanders shadowed him in and out of the back-markers for the final 30 circuits. Ryan Gustin rolled into victory lane for the first time in six months Friday night as the defending USMTS National Champion scored his first USMTS Casey’s Cup Series win of the 2012 campaign at the Valley Speedway. The 21-year-old from Marshalltown, Iowa, was a man on a mission in the 40-lap main event, coming from tenth on the starting grid to take the lead with just ten laps in the books. A caution with four laps to go bunched the field for a final sprint to the finish, but ‘The Reaper’ was too tough to tame tonight as he roared away for a 1.680-second win over Sanders, who is also an Eibach Springs sponsored driver. Nine-time USMTS champion Kelly Shryock powered his Eibach Springs equipped Modified to a fourth place finish. With his fifth top-five finish in six starts, Sanders remains the USMTS Casey’s Cup Series points leader by 11 markers. Eibach Springs Heat Three Winner: John Schwab

WISSOTA Modifieds
Matt Leer Wins at Red Cedar Speedway MENOMONIE, WI (April 20, 2012) — Matt Leer wasted little time in winning his first feature race since moving up to the Modifieds in 2012. Friday was only the second time out for Matt Leer racing in the Modified division, but he found out that experience can be over rated as he drove to his first win ever in the class at the Red Cedar Speedway, topping a tough field of competitors for the win. Leer and Curt Myers battled for the lead on the opening lap but Leer was able to secure the spot and open up a slight advantage. Leer continued to hold the top spot until a caution set up a two lap dash to the checkered flag. Leer was challenged on the restart, but he was able to hold on for the win.

pr04-30-12_4COMP Cams Super Dirt Series / Unsanctioned Super Late Models
Moyer Continues Hot Streak; Claims Wins at Batesville and Magnolia BATESVILLE, AR (April 14, 2012) – Billy Moyer and his famed #21 team continued their stellar 2012 racing season by sweeping the April 13-14 weekend to bring their 2012 win total to nine. On Friday night, the Billy Moyer Racing (BMR) team rolled into the nearby Batesville Motor Speedway in Locust Grove, Arkansas for a Comp Cams Super Dirt Series showdown. Billy started dead last in his heat race, but quickly made short work of the field in taking the dominating prelim triumph. After starting from the pole position in the A-Main, “Mr. Smooth” led all thirty circuits in the feature to pocket the $2,000 payday ahead of R.C. Whitwell, Billy Moyer, Jr., Robert Baker, and Brandon Smith.

Saturday’s action took the BMR team to the Magnolia Motor Speedway in Columbus, Mississippi for the inaugural ‘Spring Throw Down.’ Billy won his heat race in preliminary competition and later rolled off from the outside of the front row in the 50-lap main event. The Batesville, Arkansas Hall of Famer was once again dominant during the A-Main by leading flag-to-flag to claim the $8,000 victory over Ray Moore, Chris Wall, Ronny Lee Hollingsworth, and Neil Baggett.

pr04-30-12_5Championship Racing Association (CRA)
Kenzie Ruston Makes Dream Come True at Anderson Speedway ANDERSON, IN (April 17, 2012) — Twenty-year-old Kenzie Ruston had an opportunity to make a dream come true for Teressa Harp, a twelve-year old who is fighting her second round of Rhabdomyosarcoma, and that’s exactly what she did. Once Ruston found out about Teressa’s wish to watch her race, the Team-along with the help of Cruise 4 Cancer Foundation and the staff at Anderson Speedway put a plan together to put a smile on this little courageous girl’s face. Teressa’s experience included a special meet and greet with Ruston and her team and a VIP treatment at the track that included designation as the official grand marshal. In the CRA 100, Ruston managed to miss several wrecks and maneuver her Eibach Springs equipped Super Late Model past 14 cars to finish 11th in the season opener.

News and Notes:
United States Modified Touring Series (USMTS) Sound Off: Zack VanderBeek NEW SHARON, IA (April 19, 2012) — Zack VanderBeek, driver of the #33z Eibach Springs sponsored Skyrocket, joined Dirt Cast to talk about his 2011 season, the start the 2012 campaign, the new USMTS championship formats and how he will approach them, his run in the King of America II Modified Nationals, the second place check being his biggest payday, seeing his friend Ron Ver Beek get a USMTS win and his plans for 2012. Listen to the entire interview here:

1-800-222-8811 |

No comments yet.

Leave a Comment