LinkedIn YouTube Facebook Twitter RSS Reset
Comments Off

Best In The Desert’s Trick Truck Challenge – A Battle To The Very End!

Hen250_PR_TTchallenge(Nov 27 2012) With the start flag drop on the Henderson “250” just hours away, here’s an update on the Trick Truck Challenge Cup.

Best In The Desert is proud to announce that the Trick Truck Challenge has been a huge success for the 2012 racing season. Twenty (20) of the best off-road competitors in the world put in an additional $5,000 for prize money to be paid out to the 1st place, 2nd place and 3rd place Trick Truck winners in each of the six Best In The Desert races. Beginning with the 2012 Parker “425”. The prize money added up to $100,000 to be paid out and even more will be paid out as a Year-End Bonus to the 1st, 2nd and 3rd place year-end winners. Now that is some serious money to take home by racing Best In The Desert; plus the Best In The Desert payback class money, any way you look at it the Trick Truck 1st Place winner is going home with a lot of money!

Additionally, several sponsors stepped up and offered the following contributions to the year-end bonus money:
1) TSCO – $10,000
2) Jimco – $2,000 to 1st Overall Year-End Trick Truck champion if wins in a Jimco Truck.
3) Geiser – $5,000 to 1st Overall Year-End Trick Truck champion if wins in a Geiser Truck.
4) MasterCraft – $2,000 to 1st Overall Year-End Trick Truck champion if wins using MasterCraft Seats.
5) Racer Engineering – $5,000 to 1st Overall Year-End Trick Truck champion if wins in a Racer Engineering truck.
6) Camburg – $20,000 to 1st Overall Year-End Trick Truck champion if wins in a Camburg KINETIK built truck.

The Trick Truck race is still up for grabs and will be one of the closest races ever followed by all race enthusiasts. In Best In The Desert a racer must start all five races, but can throw out their lowest points.

Points Standing Before Henderson “250”:
Mark Weyhrich 496 points
Steve Sourapas 485 points, 11 point difference from 1st
Juan Carlos Lopez 457 points, 39 point difference from 1st
Steve Olliges 440 points, 56 point difference from 1st
Adam Householder 439 points, 57 point difference from 1st

2012 Trick Truck Challenge Cup Winners:

Parker “425” – 1st Place Mark Weyhrich $10,000; 2nd Place Juan Carlos Lopez $6,000; 3rd Place Swift/Olliges $3,000

Mint “400” – 1st Place Sourapas/MacCachren $10,000; 2nd Place Adam Householder $6,000; 3rd Place Mark Weyhrich $3,000

Silver State “300” 1st Place BJ Baldwin $10,000; 2nd Place Sourapas/MacCachren $6,000; 3rd Place Jason Voss $3,000

Vegas to Reno 1st Place Mark Weyhrich $10,000; 2nd Place Rick D Johnson $6,000; 3rd Place Jason Voss $3,000

BlueWater DC 1st Place Sourapas/MacCachren $10,000; 2nd Place BJ Baldwin $6,000; 3rd Place Mark Weyhrich $3,000

Here are the participating teams for the 2012 Best In The Desert season:

TT_chal_PR_lopezAdam Ashcraft, #78
Adam Householder, #24
BJ Baldwin, #1
Cameron Steele, #16
Greg Nunley, #10
Jason Voss, #35
Jerry Zaiden, #75
Jesse Jones, #76
Jimmy Nuckles, #48
Juan Carlos Lopez, #18
Gary Weyhrich, #98
Kevin McGillivray
& Chad Ragland, #56
Mark Weyhrich, #9
Rich Voss, #36
Rick D. Johnson, #71
Ron Whitton, #39
Scott Whipple, #95
Steve Olliges & John Swift, # 28
Steve Sourapas & Rob MacCachren, # 6
Will Staats, # 42

Casey Folks, director of Best in the Desert said, “There is a lot on the line and this means it has come down to the last race of the year, the Henderson “250”! Good luck to all of our racers, be safe and have fun!”

Best In The Desert official sponsors: Ford Motor Company – official truck, General Tire – official tire, Lucas – Official Oil, VP Racing Fuels – official fuel, KC HiLiTES – official light, John Deere – official UTV, Beta – official motorcycle, FabTech – Official Suspension, Fall Advertising, Prerunner Maniac, McKenzies, PCI Race Radios, and Sportsman Cycle Sales.

The American Off-Road Racing Series…Best In The Desert!
Further information available from:
email:, phone: (702) 457-5775

Photo contributors:
Bink Designs /
Dirt Focus /

Comments are closed.