LinkedIn YouTube Facebook Twitter RSS Reset

Abrigo The Big Winner At The 2012 GEICO MiniMotoSX – Two Wins And A Second Earns Him $8,000 In Purse Money

MMSX-2012-Abrigo-Browning-Valade-action-Drew-Ruiz-PhotoLas Vegas, NV (May 6, 2012) – The ninth annual GEICO MiniMotoSX, Fueled by Monster Energy took place inside the Orleans Arena and BBR Monster Energy backed Ryan Abrigo was the big winner. With wins in both the 12 Inch Expert and World final as well as a second place finish in the 10 Inch Expert class, Abrigo walked away with $8,000 in purse money for the evening of Mini Bike racing. The 2012 MiniMotoSX was again the World’s Largest Minibike race with over 300 entries and it was a truly International event with riders from France, Italy, Japan and the United States taking wins.

Abrigo came out on top of an intense battle with France’s Mike Valade in the premier 12 Inch Expert class. Valade made a mistake and finished third behind Willy Browning. In the 10 Inch Expert class, Michael Blose took the win over Abrigo and Willy Browning.

The World Final, which combines the top riders from Expert, Youth and Women’s classes as well as top international riders, was also won by Abrigo. Browning and Valade again finished second and third respectively.

Jeff Willoh, the former top Arenacross rider won the Vet 35+ class over Matthew Skerrett and Japan’s Tomokuni Osada.

Tatum Sik successfully defended her Women’s class title. Erika Short, a former champion finished second and Justine Geisler made the long trip from France to finish third.

Zac Hays won the TB Parts Vintage class for the third straight year. Zach Martino finished second and Randy Pekarek finished third.

Italy’s Alceste Pallotta won 12 Inch Amateur class, which had nearly sixty entries. Killian Woder finished second and Mike Wendricks took third.

Hiroshi Nakayama came all the way from Japan to take the 10 Inch Amateur class win over Drake Williams and Robert Rexrode.

MMSX-2012-12-Expert-Podium-DrewRuizPhoto1Duane Brown, one of the three brothers that founded BBR Motorsports won the 10 Inch Stock/Mod class. He has been trying to win this class for the past eight years. Ricky Fitzgerald finished second ahead of Tyler Zuech.

Michael Horban won the 12 Inch Stock/Mod class over Kyle Davis and Randy Pakarek.

Shawn Rinehart won the 16 Inch Amateur class for the second year in a row. Michell Staben finished second and Ty Pennington finished third.

Ryan Dudek, the Cycle World magazine Off Road editor won the Zero Electric bike domo race. Dirt Rider magazine’s Chris Green finished second ahead of Zero Test rider Trevor.

Thirteen year old Carson Brown won the 12 Inch Youth 13-17 class in his first year of eligibility. This was the first time that a father/son took MMSX championships on the same night. William Bojorquez finished second and Stephen Dunn took third.

Thibault Lacaille, another rider that made the trip from France won the 10 Inch Youth 13-17 class over Dillon Drummen and Carson Brown.

Devin Strong won a very entertaining race in the 12 Inch Youth stock 9-13 class. Kash Williams took second and Brian Haman finished third.

Special Thanks to the 2012 MiniMotoSX sponsors: GEICO, Monster Energy, Freegun, RideNow Powersports, Kawasaki, Zero, Pitster Pro, CHP, TB Parts, Thor, BBR, SSR, TBolt USA, Traxxis, All Access, Pole Position, Planet Mini’s.

Complete results are available at this link:

You can find more info at

For rules and race information visit or email

About Source Interlink Media Motorsports
Encompassing the highly successful GEICO AMA MiniMotoSX presented by Monster Energy and Braaap USA, the GEICO AMA EnduroCross Championship Series, presented by Lucas Oil and the AMA EnduroCross Grand Championships, the Source Interlink Media Motorsports brands reach millions of motorcycle enthusiasts with live events, DVD packages, web sites, television and magazine coverage. Visit or

About GrindMedia
Media giant Source Interlink Media’s GrindMedia is home to renowned action and adventure sports magazine brands and the leading provider of online action sports and entertainment content. With flagship action sports brands including Surfer, Surfing, Snowboarder, Skateboarder, Powder, Bike, Canoe & Kayak, SUP-Standup Paddler and Paved, as well as their standalone websites, GrindMedia is the leading action and adventure sports magazine publisher in the United States. Delivering significant reach across both action sports enthusiast and various in-market consumer audiences, GrindMedia also produces more than 20 leading events and webcasts such as Surfer Poll Awards, Powder Video Awards, Nike 6.0 Lowers Pro, EnduroCross and International Surfing Day. GrindMedia is also the action and adventure sports content provider for Yahoo! Sports. To learn more, visit

No comments yet.

Leave a Comment