LinkedIn YouTube Facebook Twitter RSS Reset

Roush Yates and Ganassi Claim 2nd Consecutive EcoBoost Win

Roush YatesScott Pruett and Memo Rojas led Team Ganassi with Felix Sabates to its second consecutive win in the TUDOR United SportsCar Championship at Long Beach, California on Saturday with the new Roush Yates Ford EcoBoost engine. This victory marked the 58th career win for Pruett and the 29th for Rojas. Team Ganassi had a time of 1:40:46.184 in 77 laps and won the first pole position for the all new Ford EcoBoost engine platform in TUDOR Championship competition history with the No. 01 TelCel Riley race car.

Ford has had 17 overall wins at Long Beach dating back to their very first in 1977 by Mario Andretti. Brandon Davis and Paul Brown were the last to have Ford Victories in 2011 at the World Challenge at Long Beach. Having winning history in three styles of vehicles at the

11-turn, 1.968 mile city street course, Pruett and Rojas credit their prior knowledge and experiences to enable them to pick up the victory this weekend.

Pruett commended his fellow competitors on a great race saying: “I have to take my hat off to all the drivers out there. When you see that level, between the P cars and the GTLM, that group of guys together, you get a flawless race like we saw today. Everybody was out there racing hard, everybody was out there racing close, but they were also giving room when they needed to.”

In a field of 21 cars, fellow Roush Yates Ecoboost teammate Michael Shank Racing’s No. 10 car ran 2.5 seconds behind the No. 01 of Ganassi. Ozz Negri and MSR claimed the race’s fastest lap of 1:16.007 at an average speed of 93.212 mph on lap 37 of the 100 minute race.

John Maddox, Ford EcoBoost Program Manager for Roush Yates Engines, said: “We have two great wins. They covered the front row here with our EcoBoost engines in qualifying. We are very happy to win and be associated with Ford Racing, Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates, and Michael Shank Racing.”

“The Roush Yates built Ford Ecoboost technology is opening a new chapter in Ford Racing history and Ford Motor Company,” said Director of Ford Racing, Jamie Allison. “This win was monumental for Ford since their last big win in 1987 with Pruett in the Trans-AM series.”

The series will be back in action on May 4, 2014 for the Continental Tire Monterey Grand Prix at Mazda Raceway in Laguna Seca. For more information regarding the new Roush Yates EcoBoost technology or to place and order for your racing parts, contact the Roush Yates sales team at 704-360-1455 or visit



Press Release Supplied By:

Press Release Contact Email:


No comments yet.

Leave a Comment